Gettin’ Old

old

It’s gettin’ old, y’all.

Saying no to an impromptu dinner invitation because there is no cash envelope for last minute plans.

Waiting until next month to purchase new work pants, and hoping you can find a reasonable fit on sale.

Removing items from your grocery cart that you don’t really need so you can stay in budget for the week.

Worrying about what will come up that you can’t afford because you chose not to budget for it. I often have to remind myself chose is the operative word.

And, frankly, I’m tired of it.

So, I rebelled a little. I’m so bad at rebelling that I didn’t even know I was doing it until I sat down to write this post…

Yesterday, I took my girls to the grocery store, and tired of saying “No,”  I said YES! 

I needed to spend $70….and I spent $96 instead. And I’m not even sorry. Still in cash, just from a different category. From tithing, actually. So, maybe I do feel a little sorry. #CatholicGuilt. 

I said yes to $26 worth of items  we didn’t need. Yes, to organic vanilla yogurt and pink sugar wafers. Yes to cucumbers and tomatoes. Yes to hot dogs and hot dog buns. Yes to macaroni and cheese. Yes to a few more items that made their way into my cart.

Come to think of it, I should have also said yes to rocky road ice cream…

Have you read the book Wild? I felt like Cheryl Strayed when she reached a general store after days of hiking with pennies in her pocket, received a fresh $20 and had her way with a plethora of chips, burgers and Snapple Lemonade.

I haven’t quit the debt-payoff plan or given up on the cash system. I’m not lost forever and I haven’t abandoned ship. I just don’t want to do this anymore.

Thankfully, the end goal is that I won’t have to.

 

Leave a Reply

